q
Welcome to moose theme.
Enter any text or widget here.
More fluency, please | RPlus
Marlitt Wendt, Conny Ranz, Pferdsein, RPlus, R+, Clickertraining, clicker training, Clicker, Clickern, Positives Pferdetraining, Positive Verstärkung, Pferdeverhalten, Pferde-Ethologie, Pferdeethologie, Equine ethology, Native horses, Shaping, Target, Pferdetraining, empowered equestrians, Wildpferde, positive reinforcement, positive reinforcement training, Zirkuslektionen, Bodenarbeit, Freiheitsdressur, Freiarbeit, Wenn Pferde lächeln, Belohnung, Belohnungslernen
352851
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-352851,single-format-standard,eltd-cpt-1.0,ajax_leftright,page_not_loaded,,moose-ver-2.1, vertical_menu_with_scroll,smooth_scroll,side_menu_slide_with_content,width_370,blog_installed,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2,vc_responsive

Flow of movement at ease

 

Especially when thinking about higher-level lessons we picture a horse to ideally reach its highest level of elegancy; it should appear to effortlessly show the most difficult motion sequences with the greatest ease. Think of a really well performed passage; there is no hopping and staggering from one hind leg to the other but the movement should be rhythmic, dynamic, evenly distributed, and fluent instead. Similarly, we frequently want to achieve a good flow of movement when working on certain tricks. For example, we want our horse to retrieve a certain object. Our goal is that it quickly and directly runs after the object we have thrown, skillfully picks up the object, and brings the item back to the trainer without delay. We aim for a kind of fluency that is characterized by the smooth and natural succession of learned elements in a chain of behavioral responses. Yet, we frequently see horses experimenting a lot before finally picking up the object or even losing the item while retrieving it. So, the amount of fluency can tell whether a horse has internalized a task in its totality or not.

Working on fluency

 

That is why we repeatedly work on improving fluency in Rplus training: on enhancing suppleness, and on skillfully performing lessons with the greatest ease. All too often it becomes apparent that many riders expect or presuppose quite a lot at very early learning stages without having worked for it. Yet, it requires several thousand repetitions on average until a chain of behavioral responses is fully incorporated; several thousand repetitions from the beginning to the end successfully reproduced and rewarded. Of course, the more complex a chain of behavioral responses is, and the more physically demanding a lesson is for the horse, the more partial steps are necessary, and the longer it takes to reach the amount of repetitions necessary to really internalize this lesson.

Repeat, repeat, repeat

 

So, I like to practice recurring patterns with my horses and in my courses. This allows me to achieve many repetitions in a rather short amount of time. For example, after having worked on shoulder-in in its basic form, I like to practice shoulder-in with the help of an imaginary line on the floor that resembles an eight.

The pattern

 

An eight can be imagined as two voltes that are linked, and we are moving along while respectively changing lead. Each arc of each eight allows us to practice shoulder-in for a couple of steps, and by changing leads we simultaneously improve fluency on both sides. Furthermore, we are able to repeatedly practice the introduction of shoulder-in, the fluent implementation, and the end of this lesson, as well as straightening the horse in quick succession. Traditional master riders have been using the eight as basic pattern to study the art of riding for a long time. Our work with positive reinforcement enables us to link traditional knowledge with current scientific knowledge.

 

 

Marlitt Wendt & Conny Ranz

AUTHOR: Conny & Marlitt

q
Welcome to moose theme.
Enter any text or widget here.
RPlus | Mehr Fluency, bitte
351444
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-351444,single-format-standard,eltd-cpt-1.0,ajax_leftright,page_not_loaded,,moose-ver-2.1, vertical_menu_with_scroll,smooth_scroll,side_menu_slide_with_content,width_370,blog_installed,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2,vc_responsive

Bewegungsfluss in Leichtigkeit

 

Gerade beim Reiten höherer Lektionen soll ein Pferd im Idealfall seine größtmögliche Eleganz erreichen. Scheinbar mühelos soll es schwierigste Bewegungsabläufe mit Leichtigkeit zeigen. So soll eine wirklich gute Passage nicht hopsend von einem Hinterbein schwer auf das andere schwankend ausgeführt werden, sondern rhythmisch und dynamisch gleichmäßig fließend. Genauso soll sich bei der Erarbeitung von vielen Tricks ein guter Bewegungsfluss ergeben. Möchten wir etwa, dass unser Pferd einen Gegenstand apportiert, so besteht unser angestrebtes Ziel darin, dass es direkt und zügig hinter dem geworfenen Gegenstand herläuft, ihn geschickt aufhebt um ihn dann direkt ohne Unterbrechung zurück zum Menschen zu bringen. Die erwünschte Fluency ist dabei eine geschmeidige, natürliche Abfolge der erlernten Elemente einer Verhaltenskette. Oft sieht man aber Pferde, die lange herumprobieren, bis sie das Objekt tatsächlich aufheben oder aber das Apportel unterwegs verlieren. Hieran merkt man ob das Pferd die Aufgabe in seiner Gesamtheit schon verinnerlicht hat.

Arbeit an der Fluency

 

Um dieses Problem zu umgehen arbeiten wir im R+ Training immer wieder an der Fluency, also an der Geschmeidigkeit, Geschicklichkeit, kurz an der Leichtigkeit in der Umsetzung einer Lektion. Dabei wird mir immer wieder bewusst wie viele Reiter viel zu früh zu viel erwarten oder voraussetzen ohne dieses Lernstadium wirklich erarbeitet zu haben. Im Schnitt sagt man, braucht es mehrere tausend Wiederholungen, also wirklich von vorne bis hinten gut gelungene und belohnte Wiederholungen bis eine Verhaltenskette wirklich verstanden ist. Je komplexer das Verhalten und je anspruchsvoller die Lektionen körperlich für das Pferd sind, desto mehr Teilschritte sind natürlich nötig und desto länger dauert es auf die nötige Belohnungshistorie zu kommen.

Wiederholung, Wiederholung, Wiederholung

 

Daher übe ich mit meinen Pferden und auf meinen Kursen gerne in wiederkehrenden Mustern. So kann in einem kurzen Zeitfenster eine relativ große Anzahl an Wiederholungen durchgeführt werden. Ein Beispiel: Wenn ich das Schulterherein in seiner Grundform bereits erarbeitet habe, so gehe ich gerne dazu über es im Verlauf einer gedachten auf den Boden gezeichneten Spur in Form einer Acht zu trainieren.

Die 8 als Grundmuster

 

Eine Acht ist wie zwei miteinander verknüpfte Volten zu verstehen, auf denen wir mit einem jeweiligen Handwechsel entlang gehen. So haben wir auf beiden Bögen der Acht die Möglichkeit ein paar Schritte Schulterherein zu üben und durch den Handwechsel gleich die Fluency auf beiden Händen zu verbessern. Darüber hinaus haben wir in sehr kurzen Abständen die Möglichkeit sowohl die Einleitung des Schulterhereins, die flüssige Durchführung, als auch das Beenden der Lektion und das erneute Geraderichten zu integrieren. Die Acht als Grundmuster der Reitkunst kannten schon die alten Reitmeister. Durch die Arbeit mit positiver Verstärkung können wir nun das Wissen der Tradition mit dem Wissen der Forschung verknüpfen.

 

Marlitt & Conny

AUTHOR: Conny & Marlitt